Anathema: Distant Satellites [2014]

Anathema - Distant Satellites [2014]

Released Japan – 4th June / Germany, Switzerland & Sweden – 6th June / UK & RoW – 9th June / USA, Canada & France – 10th June
Genre Progressive rocknew prog
Length 56:40
Label Kscope
Producer Christer-André Cederberg.

Distant Satellites (Stylised as distant satellites) is the upcoming tenth studio album by the British rock bandAnathema scheduled to be released on 9 June 2014 worldwide via Kscope. The album was recorded at Cederberg Studios in Oslo, with producer Christer-André Cederberg,[1] with some songs also mixed by Steven Wilson.

The artwork was created by Korean new media artist Sang Jun Yoo and based around his Distant Light Installation.

The band released a statement on their new album:

distant satellites is the culmination of everything ANATHEMA been working up to so far in our musical path. It contains almost every conceivable element of the heartbeat of Anathema music that it is possible to have. There is beauty, intensity, drama, quietude, and extra musical dimensions that the band have previously only hinted at. All built on the song writing chemistry of Daniel, John and Vincent – and the haunting voice of Lee Douglas.

Track listing

All songs written by Daniel Cavanagh, except where noted.

  1. “The Lost Song, Part 1” – 5:53
  2. “The Lost Song, Part 2” – 5:47
  3. “Dusk (Dark Is Descending)” (D. Cavanagh, Vincent Cavanagh) – 5:59
  4. “Ariel” – 6:28
  5. “The Lost Song, Part 3” – 5:21
  6. “Anathema” – 6:40
  7. “You’re Not Alone” (D. Cavanagh, Jamie Cavanagh, John Douglas) – 3:26
  8. “Firelight” – 2:42
  9. “Distant Satellites” (D. Cavanagh, Douglas) – 8:17
  10. “Take Shelter” – 6:07


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s