Megadeth: Dystopia [2016]

Megadeth - Dystopia [2016]

Released January 22, 2016
Recorded April–July 2015
Studio Lattitude Studio South, Leiper’s Fork, Tennessee
Genre Thrash metal
Length 46:51
Label Tradecraft/Universal
Producer Dave Mustaine, Chris Rakestraw

Dystopia is the fifteenth studio album by American thrash metal band Megadeth, released on January 22, 2016. The album, produced by Dave Mustaine and Chris Rakestraw, is the first by the band since 2004’s The System Has Failed not to feature longtime drummer Shawn Drover and also the first not to feature guitarist Chris Broderick since 2007’s United Abominations. These roles have been filled by Lamb of God drummer Chris Adler and Angra guitarist Kiko Loureiro, respectively.

Dystopia has received a largely positive reaction from critics and held a Metacritic score of 69/100 as of February 2016. The album debuted at number three on the Billboard 200 chart, making Dystopia the band’s second highest charting album afterCountdown to Extinction, which peaked at number two in 1992.

Track listing

All songs written by Dave Mustaine, except where noted[39]

No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “The Threat Is Real” 4:22
2. “Dystopia” 5:00
3. “Fatal Illusion” 4:16
4. “Death from Within” 4:48
5. “Bullet to the Brain” 4:29
6. “Post American World” Mustaine, Kiko Loureiro 4:25
7. “Poisonous Shadows” Mustaine, Loureiro 6:02
8. “Conquer or Die!” (Instrumental) Mustaine, Loureiro 3:33
9. “Lying in State” 3:34
10. “The Emperor” 3:54
11. “Foreign Policy” (Fear cover) Lee Ving (uncredited) 2:28
Total length:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s