Mayhem – Esoteric Warfare [2014]

Mayhem - Esoteric Warfare [2014]

Released 6 June 2014 (Europe and Asia)
10 June 2014 (North America)
Genre Black metalblack/doom
Length 47:25
Label Season of Mist

Esoteric Warfare is the upcoming fifth studio album by the Norwegian black metal band Mayhem, scheduled to be released via Season of Mist on 6 June 2014 in Europe and Asia and on 10 June 2014 in North America. It is the first album to feature Teloch on guitar since Blasphemer‘s departure from the band in 2008.

The album was initially announced in a 2012 interview with bassist Necrobutcher for[1]

On 2 August 2013, drummer Hellhammer announced on Mayhem’s official Facebook page that he was currently recording his drum parts for the album.

Mayhem announced in November 2013 that the album entered the mixing process, and that they expected to release it on early 2014. On 18 February 2014, it was announced that a teaser 7″ single containing the track “Psywar” would be released on 25 April 2014.[2]

On 20 February 2014, Mayhem’s record label Season of Mist revealed the new album’s title as being Esoteric Warfare, and its release date as being 6 June 2014.[3]

On 19 March 2014, unveiled the album’s official track listing, along with other further details.

Track listing

No. Title Length
1. “Watcher” 6:19
2. Psywar 3:25
3. “Trinity” 3:57
4. “Pandæmon” 2:53
5. “Mylab” 6:03
6. “VI Sec.” 4:14
7. “Throne of Time” 4:06
8. “Corpse of Care” 4:06
9. “Posthuman” 6:54
10. “Aion Suntalia” 5:25


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s