Sonata Arctica: Ecliptica – Revisited: 15th Anniversary Edition [2014]

Sonata Arctica - Ecliptica - Revisited - 15th Anniversary Edition [2014]

Released October 24, 2014 (15th anniversary edition)
Recorded 2014 (15th anniversary edition)
Genre Power metal
Length 51:41
Label Nuclear Blast(15th anniversary edition)
Producer Sonata Arctica

In 2014 Sonata Arctica announced through their Facebook page that they had re-recorded the entire album for the 15th anniversary.[6] The new edition is titled Ecliptica: Revisited; 15th Anniversary Edition and will be released on October 24, 2014, with the same track-listing as the original regular edition release plus one unreleased bonus track.[6]

Commenting on the album, keyboardist Henrik Klingenberg (who was not a member of the band at the time Ecliptica was released) said:[6]

When it first was suggested to us by our Japanese label that we’d re-record our debut album, it felt a bit weird, but somehow the idea grew on us. Being that only Tony [Kakko] and Tommy [Portimo] played on the original one, we thought that it would be a fun thing to do. We’re definitely not trying to re-write history. The original “Ecliptica” is the starting point of this band and a very special album with a certain feel of innocence and enthusiasm which cannot be recreated as such since we’re not teenagers anymore. Having said that, this new version is more of a tribute and an update on how these songs sound when played by our current lineup. We wanted to stay true to the original album as much as possible and not turn this into some weird re-arranged project where you couldn’t tell which song was being played.

The re-recording’s first single will be “Kingdom for a Heart”, set to be released digitally on September 12, 2014.[6] According to Klingenberg, the song was chosen in order to “represent the overall sound of the album”.

Track listing

All songs written and composed by Tony Kakko except “8th Commandment” and “Picturing the Past”, co-written by Jani Liimatainen.

No. Title Length
1. “Blank File” 4:05
2. “My Land” 4:36
3. “8th Commandment” 3:41
4. “Replica” 4:55
5. “Kingdom for a Heart” 3:51
6. “FullMoon” 5:05
7. Letter to Dana 6:00
8. “UnOpened” 3:42
9. “Picturing the Past (Kakko, Liimatainen) 3:36
10. “Destruction Preventer” 7:40
11. “Mary-Lou (bonus track on Korean, Japanese, South American and other releases) 4:30
Total length:



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s