Epica: The Quantum Enigma [2014]

Epica - The Quantum Enigma [2014]

Released May 2, 2014 (Europe)
May 5, 2014 (United Kingdom)
May 6, 2014 (North America)
Recorded Sandlane Recording Facilities
RijenThe Netherlands
(October 2013-January 2014)
Genre Symphonic metal
Length 68:13
Label Nuclear Blast
Producer Joost van den Broek

The Quantum Enigma is the sixth studio album by Dutch symphonic metal band Epica. It was released on May 2, 2014 by Nuclear Blast.[7] It is their first studio album with new bassist Rob van der Loo, who replaced Yves Huts in 2012.[8]

The album’s cover artwork[9] is done by Stefan Heilemann,[10] who also did the cover artwork for the band’s fourthand fifth albums.

Guitarist/vocalist Mark Jansen explains: “I have been listening to our new album and I can’t get enough of it! It sounds more modern, but with all typical EPICA elements inside. Refreshing might be the right word. This album has also been the result of a real group effort.” “It was great to see everyone being so motivated to create our best album!” “Even though the sound is more heavy (the guitars, bass and drums sound so brutal!!!), it’s still a very catchy album as well. Some old influences from our earliest work, some references to ‘Design Your Universe’ and some new elements.” “I can’t wait ’till the moment you’ll be able to listen to our newborn which makes us all very proud!”

EPICA returned to the stage on April 30 for a CD-release performance at 013 in Tilburg, The Netherlands.[11]

On March 18, “The Essence of Silence” was released as a single on iTunes (a.o.) in the United States.[12]

“Unchain Utopia” became the second single released on April 4. In an interview with the Sonic Cathedral Webzine,[13] vocalist Simone Simons had confirmed that a video for “Unchain Utopia” was set to be released soon. However, a lyric video was released instead, which features footage originally filmed for the music video.[14]

Track listing

Disc 1 (Standard Edition)
No. Title Lyrics Music Length
1. “Originem” Mark Jansen Bob Katsionis and Epica 2:11
2. “The Second Stone” Simone Simons Isaac Delahaye & Epica 5:00
3. “The Essence of Silence” Jansen Ariën van Weesenbeek & Epica 4:47
4. “Victims of Contingency” Jansen Jansen, Epica, Jack Driessen & Frank Schiphorst 3:31
5. “Sense Without Sanity” (The Impervious Code) Jansen Mark Jansen & Epica 7:42
6. “Unchain Utopia” Simons Isaac Delahaye & Epica 4:45
7. “The Fifth Guardian” (Interlude) Delahaye, Coen Janssen & Miro Rodenberg 3:04
8. “Chemical Insomnia” Simons Isaac Delahaye & Epica 5:12
9. “Reverence” (Living in the Heart) Jansen van Weesenbeek & Epica 5:02
10. “Omen” (The Ghoulish Malady) Jansen Jansen & Epica 5:28
11. “Canvas of Life” Simons Janssen & Epica 5:28
12. “Natural Corruption” Simons Delahaye & Epica 5:24
13. “The Quantum Enigma” (Kingdom of Heaven Part II) Jansen Jansen & Epica 11:53



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s