Opeth: Pale Communion [2014]

Opeth - Pale Communion [2014]

Released 25 August 2014
Recorded Rockfield Studios
Genre Progressive rock[1]
Length 55:45
Label Roadrunner
Producer Mikael Åkerfeldt

Pale Communion is the eleventh studio album by Swedish heavy metal band Opeth. The album was released on 25 August 2014 through Roadrunner Records.[2] The album was produced by Mikael Åkerfeldt and mixed by Steven Wilson.[3]Pale Communion is the first album with keyboardist Joakim Svalberg after the departure of Per Wiberg in 2011.

Mikael Åkerfeldt said of the album, “I wanted to do something more melodic with this album, so there’s stronger vocal melodies and more melodies overall for this album.”[4] Greg Kennelty of Metal Injection said the album does not contain “growls or death metal vocals”.[5] He also described the album as “the missing link between Damnation and Ghost Reveriesor if Heritage was written directly after Ghost Reveries without Watershed having ever existed.”

The cover art was designed by Travis Smith, who has designed several previous Opeth album covers. The artwork contains Latin text. The left panel quotes Axel Oxenstierna: “Don’t you know, my son, with how little wisdom the world is governed?” (An nesci, mi fili, quantilla prudentia mundus regatur?). The middle panel quotes Terence: “In these days friends are won through flattery, the truth gives birth to hate.” (Hoc tempore obsequium amicos, veritas odium parit, Andria, vv. 67-68). The right panel quotes Marcus Valerius Martialis: “He grieves truly who grieves without a witness.” (Ille dolet vere qui sine teste dolet, Epigrammata, I, 33).

Track listing

All songs written and composed by Mikael Åkerfeldt, except where noted.

No. Title Length
1. “Eternal Rains Will Come” 6:48
2. “Cusp of Eternity” 5:35
3. “Moon Above, Sun Below” 10:52
4. “Elysian Woes” 4:47
5. “Goblin” (instrumental) 4:32
6. “River” 7:30
7. “Voice of Treason” 8:00
8. “Faith in Others” 7:39
9. “Solitude” (live) (special edition bonus track) (Black Sabbath cover) 5:56
10. “Var kommer barnen in” (live) (special edition bonus track) (Hansson de Wolfe United cover) 5:52
Total length:



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s