Judas Priest: Redeemer of Souls [2014]

Judas Priest - Redeemer of Souls [2014]

11 July 2014 (EU)
14 July 2014 (UK)
8 July 2014 (US)
Genre Heavy metal
Length 61:58
Label EpicColumbia
Producer Mike Exeter and Glenn Tipton

Redeemer of Souls is the seventeenth studio album by the heavy metal band Judas Priest, which was released on 8 July 2014. It is their first album since 2008’s Nostradamus and also their first without founding guitarist K.K. Downing, who left the band in 2011 and was replaced by new guitarist Richie Faulkner.

On 27 January 2011, it was announced that Judas Priest was in the process of writing new material for what was thought to be the group’s final album due to their previously announced farewell tour entitled the Epitaph World Tour, but the band clarified that the Epitaph tour was “by no means the end of the band”.[9] Speaking at a press conference in Los Angeles on May, 26, of the new material Glenn Tipton said: “It’s quite a mixed bag. Really, there’s more sentiment on this album. In a way, I suppose, it’s also our farewell album, although it might not be our last one. There are some anthems on there, which pay tribute to our fans”.[10]

In April 2011, founding member K. K. Downing announced his departure from the band, citing differences with the band and management and a breakdown in their relationship as the reason. Richie Faulkner, guitarist for Lauren Harris‘ band, was announced as his replacement.[11][12]

In an August 2011 interview with Billboard, Halford explained that he and Tipton had “about 12 or 14 tracks completely mapped out” for a new studio album. He went on to say that four of those were already recorded and mixed, and suggested a new album would be out the next year.[13] However, the year ended without seeing a release. In another interview with Billboard in August 2012, Halford said that the band was taking its time with the album, and did not give a definite release date, saying “I’m of the attitude it’ll be ready when it’s ready […] I don’t think we’re going to slack off. We’re determined to do a lot of work and be just as dedicated as we’ve always been and take a lot of care and attention with all the songs. We’re not going to just bang this one out, so to speak.”[14]

On 22 December 2013, Judas Priest released a short Christmas message on their official website, which confirmed that they would be releasing the album sometime in 2014.[15] Then, on 17 March 2014 at the Ronnie James Dio Awards in Los AngelesCalifornia, Rob Halford announced that the album had been finished.[16]

On 28 April 2014, the band revealed the title for the album, as well as releasing the title track for streaming on their official website.[17] The track listing was announced four days later.[18] At the end of June, a 20 date US tour supporting the album was confirmed.

Track listing

All songs written and composed by Glenn TiptonRob Halford and Richie Faulkner[18].

No. Title Length
1. “Dragonaut” 4:26
2. “Redeemer of Souls” 3:58
3. “Halls of Valhalla” 6:04
4. “Sword of Damocles” 4:54
5. “March of the Damned” 3:55
6. “Down in Flames” 3:56
7. “Hell & Back” 4:46
8. “Cold Blooded” 5:25
9. “Metalizer” 4:37
10. “Crossfire” 3:51
11. “Secrets of the Dead” 5:41
12. “Battle Cry” 5:18
13. “Beginning of the End” 5:07
Total length:



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s