Cannibal Corpse: Torture [2012] Review

Rating: N/A

Released: 13 March 2012

01. Demented Aggression
02. Sarcophagic Frenzy
03. Scourge Of Iron
04. Encased In Concrete
05. As Deep As The Knife Will Go
06. Intestinal Crank
07. Followed Home Then Killed
08. The Strangulation Chair
09. Caged… Contorted
10. Crucifier Avenged
11. Rabid
12. Torn Through


Wow! What a step forward Cannibal Corpse has made! Synthed orchestras, accordion, even some female operatic segments thrown in! This is clearly the dawn of a new era for this band, reinventing themselves into something far more intricate, dynamic and delicate than we’ve seen from them – or metal in general – for ages.

I’m just fucking with you. This is Cannibal Corpse being Cannibal Corpse. Reviewing a Cannibal Corpse album seems so asinine by this point I needed to give you folks some reason to read on. These guys are basically the Motörhead of death metal; the overall quality may fluctuate from album to album, but not for lack of consistency. When you buy a Cannibal Corpse album, good or bad, you are going to get a set of frantic death metal beatings.

The only thing that feels different this time around is the more linear approach in the song writing. The simple album title and the less-clever-than-usual song titles reflect the nature of Torture. The sharp tempo shifts and more technical riffs don’t seem to be as frequent as their other recent works. While that makes Torture a slightly more accessible Cannibal Corpse album, it serves to give it a more natural, visceral feel.

This entire review is completely useless, though. If you are familiar with Cannibal Corpse, you already have a pretty good idea of what this is going to sound like. If for whateverfuckingreason you’ve just heard of them today…Well, I suppose Torture ain’t a bad place to start.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s